Birthday

hello-28

I turned 28 last Tuesday, and my newest year of life has been quite interesting…

I learned from IMDB that I share my day (not year) of birth with Reese Witherspoon (actress), William Shatner (actor), George Benson (jazz guitarist), and Andrew Lloyd-Weber (songwriter)!

Buzzfeed published a silly and cynical article about “8 Tips For Overcoming An Existential Meltdown On The Morning Of Your 28th Birthday” that included tips like “Call your parents.” “Go for a run.” “Splurge on breakfast.” and “Reminisce, but to a point. You’ll naturally get a little sentimental once the fears settle, and it’s fine to do some personal inventory as the morning progresses. Just be sure to relive enough to celebrate what those 28 years have given you, but not so much that you’ll convince yourself the best years have passed.” Good to know.

The week before my birthday, Steph Curry celebrated his 28th birthday with 27 points, five rebounds and five assists, giving the Golden State Warriors a win over the New Orleans Pelicans 125-107. Thanks for setting the bar so high!

28 is the average age to retire as both an a NHL player,  and as a Victoria’s Secret model. So there go my dream jobs, I suppose! 🙂

I don’t think I’ve ever actually written down a legitimate bucket list, but if I had one, this past year would definitely be one I look back on checking some significant things off! I swam with sharks, one of my lifetime goals, which also happened to be on a tropical vacation with my favorite person! I went salsa dancing for the first time, taught my friend to swim and ride a bike, got a big-girl job, moved into a lovely house, embraced some dreams and let a few go, and overall lived more in my own skin than I have before.

This last year was also a whole lot about boundaries. I can’t think of a less-fun lesson to learn – but boy, was it profound! There is so much to say about the implications of boundaries, and perfectionism, and fear in my life that I’m actually beginning a whole BOOK project just to dig into it!

I’m diving into lots of emotional work. It’s been going on for the last few months, and now it’s intentional and focused and most importantly, it’s guided. I did a lot of reflecting coming into 28, and I’m nervously looking forward to what it will bring.

What I know for sure is that I was so glad to welcome it in with such great people! (my very best friends Erin, Ashley, and Christie apparently don’t take pictures, but they are part of this, too!)

 

Leave a Reply

