2016

My first success of 2016 is not posting this until AFTER December January 1st. I’m not kidding! Instead of stressing about getting this up “on time”, I enjoyed the time over the holidays with the people I love, and I feel 100% great about that. Here’s to the new year and some of my own goals and hopes for what it will bring about…

In 2016, I will work on my SFD.

SFD is author Anne Lamott’s abbreviation for a “Shitty First Draft” and it’s the raw, unedited, non-censored first set of words that an author must start by writing. It’s an absolutely irreplaceable part of the writing process that I, as a recovering perfectionist, have a distinctly difficult time with. She writes,

Perfectionism is the voice of the oppressor, the enemy of the people. It will keep you cramped and insane your whole life, and it is the main obstacle between you and a shitty first draft. I think perfectionism is based on the obsessive belief that if you run carefully enough, hitting each stepping-stone just right, you won’t have to die. The truth is that you will die anyway and that a lot of people who aren’t even looking at their feet are going to do a whole lot better than you, and have a lot more fun while they’re doing it.” (Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird)

When I write this year, I’m going to put words on paper more quickly and with less fussing, keeping in mind that I don’t have to write perfectly, or even well, on the first draft. I will focus more on getting it on the paper and editing later. This means saying “no” to the voice of perfectionism that so holds captive the valuable creative process!

In 2016, I will live focused on abundance (rather than scarcity).

I’ve mentioned this concept of the scarcity mindset a few times this year, and it just keeps coming up. You will read several posts here this year about how the scarcity mindset hinders the development and health of our relationships, and how so much of it has snuck into our minds and hearts without us noticing. We must stop looking at our communities as places where “I lose if you win,” like there is only so much love, fame, knowledge, success, approval, etc. to go around. Instead, I will choose to celebrate the victories of others and to remember that “I don’t have to hustle for my worthiness.” (thanks, Brene Brown!)

In 2016, I will communicate more honestly. 

I’ve set out specific ways that we want to be more honest and clear, and also ways to be a better listener. I want to honor these commitments, and to continue to be open and humble enough to learn what God has been and will continue to teach me about communication. I want to be better at speaking the truth of what I am thinking and feeling, and stand firmly with that, despite how vulnerable it may feel.

In 2016, I will practice relaxing.

I know, I know, but this is for real. I have a lot of overlapping and sometimes mutually exclusive expectations that I’m balancing at any given moment, and 99% of those are my own doing. I’m learning to recognize those, to moderate them and speak softly about them, but they still take over my decisions sometimes. This year, I want to practice relaxing, taking a breath, and letting things go. This anxiety shows up in all kinds of ways, including in my physical health, and I am committed to changing that this year.

In 2016, I will write more consistently.

My final goal will be taking place here on this blog (and over at Project Wow every month, too!) I’ll be doing a few more month-long series, including one on Ephesians. Keep an eye out for that coming soon!

 

 

P.S. Rachel Dawson over at Yellow Co. wrote this great article about choosing just one word for your year! Check it out and leave a comment about what YOUR word is for 2016! I’m still working on mine!

 

 

3 thoughts on “2016

  1. Stacey says:

    I love this! I, too, decided to wait until now to “put to paper” some of my resolutions/goals/hopes for this year (reigning in that perfectionism, too, over here!). This sounds amazing! Excited to see how these all unfold for you in this year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

