A December of Letters

The seasons are finally changing. Praise the Lord! Each year at this time I find myself exiting the funk that arises in the frustration of feeling stuck in summer weather and dreariness. Shockingly, I live in Southern California, where we have arguably the most beautiful weather anywhere. My deep love for clouds and rain and falling leaves. however, perpetuates the necessity of me moving to the Pacific Northwest someday (more on that later). 

It’s November 30th and this week I completed my last assignment for my Master’s degree and celebrated a lovely Thanksgiving with my family in Fillmore, California, where I grew up. I can feel the seasons changing, as the weather shifts to being cooler each day, my to-do list is measurably shorter, and Christmas music isn’t out of place in the season anymore. I am so excited about this next month and all that it holds – graduation, Advent, Christmas, and slowing down.

As I’ve thought about what I want my plate to hold in December, I have kept coming back to my sweet friend Emily and the 31-Day Writing Challenge she did back in October last year. I certainly have missed the blogoshpere-wide trend of doing this in October, but as per my usual, I’m going to do it anyway and make up my own rules. I was so inspired by Emily’s brave and vulnerable letters to different things and people in her life, I thought that would be a fun project to try in the month of December!

So, I would love to invite you to partner with me in prayer for this crazy month and the reflections that will take place, and the time management that will be required to practice writing every single day. Each day in December, I will post a letter, starting TOMORROW! 🙂 I’ve got almost all the letter topics mapped out, but will be open to them changing each day. I think this will be a lot of fun, open to any ideas y’all have for it, as well! 

Blessings to you and all that you December holds for each of you.

Leave a Reply

