being the beloved

this is straight from my journal today…my small group is reading life of the beloved…ergo:

the fact that i am the beloved is the most intimate truth about me, as well as the greatest gift i can ever give any person in my life. i will not fall into self-rejection, because i know that the temptation is there, since my arrogance and pride only covers my insecurity and self-doubt. the voice that tells me that i must prove myself to be considered valuable is not God’s voice. each time i listen to the Voice that calls me the beloved, i’ll discover within me a desire to hear that Voice longer and more deeply. the Voice that says,

I have called you by name, from the very beginning. you are mine and I am yours. you are my beloved, on you my favor rests. I have molded you in the depths of the earth and knitted you in the palms of my hands and hidden you in the shadow of my embrace. I look at you with infinite tenderness and care for you with a care more intimate than that of a mother for her child. I have counted every hair on your head and guided you at every step. wherever you go, I go with you, and wherever you rest, I keep watch. I will give you food that will satisfy all your hunger and drink that will quench all your thirst. I will not hide my face from you. you know me as your own as I know you as my own. you belong to me. I am your father, your mother, your brother, your sister, your lover, and your spouse, yes, even your child. wherever you are I will be. nothing will ever separate us. we are one.

from the moment i claim the truth of being the beloved, i am faced with the call to become who i am, though it is the greatest spiritual journey i will ever have to make. becoming the beloved means letting the truth of my belovedness become enfleshed in everything i think, say, or do. when my deepest truth is that i am the beloved, and when my greatest joy and peace comes from fully claiming that truth, it follows that this has to be visible and tangible in the ways i eat and drink and talk and love and play and work. as a christian, i am called to become bread for the world: breakd that is taken, blessed, broken, and given. this has to be the core of my being, and i must be genuinely and thoroughly convinced that God is pleased with me and loves me just for who i am. not for anything i do, and not loving me any less for anything i don’t do.

One thought on “being the beloved

  1. Rachel says:

    Beautiful. And such a great reminder. really. “God is pleased with me and loves me just for who i am” yup. we need constant reminder of this. Especially when we are surrounded by a world that tells us opposites of what we know as truth and tempt us to assimilate rather than be set apart. And in being set apart, different from everyone else, God loves us…even when others don’t.

    Thanks for the reminder Sarah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

